Orange County metalcore icons Atreyu are back with In Our Wake, their first album since 2015's Long Live, which will be released on Oct. 12 through Search & Destroy/Spinefarm Records. They've shared the record's artwork and track listing alongside debuting two new songs, "In Our Wake" (music video above) and "Anger Left Behind" (heard below).

"Most of our videos have been story-based or life-based. But with this, we just wanted the subtle thread of humanity’s growth and decline," bassist Porter McKnight says of the video. "It starts with water, then earth, nature, cityscapes, then slowly decaying humanity. We have a choice as a species to start giving a shit about ourselves and the world around us, and what we choose to make of this life," he further explained, adding, We wanted to leave the viewer with a feeling of 'What the fuck did I just watch!?' and then play it again to deduce what went down."

"It's a deep one," singer Alex Varkatzas says of the title track. "We looked up to Chris Cornell and Chester Bennington and their deaths were fresh during the writing process," he continues. "It made us think of what we'll leave in our wake. We have a choice to change the lives of others for the better."

Drummer Brandon Saller asks,"What are you going to leave behind?" Explaining how this idea resonates throughout the record, he goes on, "We named the album In Our Wake because a lot of the concepts address this question. There are lyrics about dealing with your own personal demons and darkness. Some of it is about our children, which his who we live directly in our wake. Others are about the general public and the outpouring of hate and fear — especially in our country. We created something of a concept record without even trying."

Atreyu linked back up with producer John Feldmann, who oversaw the production on the band's lone gold-certified record (in the U.S.), 2007's Lead Sails Paper Anchor.  "Long Live was really heavy and reminiscent of our early material," continues Saller. "While we were on the road, fans kept asking to hear more from Lead Sails Paper Anchor. It made us revisit that era of the band. It was a fun, experimental, and explorative time for us, which is so fun. We wanted to give ourselves and the landscape of heavy music a jolt, so we reached out to Feldmann."

Atreyu, In Our Wake Album Art + Track Listing


01. In Our Wake
02. House Of Gold
03. The Time Is Now
04. Nothing Will Ever Change
05. Blind Deaf & Dumb
06. Terrified
07. Safety Pin
08. Into the Open
09. Paper Castle
10. No Control
11. Anger Left Behind
12. Super Hero

25 Best Metalcore Albums of All Time


More From 96.3 The Blaze