Green Day‘s recording pace has certainly slowed over the years — it took them four years to complete ‘American Idiot’ and five to finish the follow-up, ’21st Century Breakdown,’ which was released three years ago — but they’re about to start making up for lost time with a whopping three albums of new music, scheduled to be released between September 2012 and January 2013.

The band is currently in an Oakland studio with producer Rob Cavallo wrapping up the LPs, titled ‘¡Uno!,’ ‘¡Dos!,’ and ‘¡Tré!’ We can reportedly expect to see ‘¡Uno!’ on Sept. 25, with ‘¡Dos!’ following on Nov. 13 and ‘¡Tré!’ wrapping things up on January 15, 2013.

“We are at the most prolific and creative time in our lives,” said the band in what might be the most understated press release we’re going to read all year. “This is the best music we’ve ever written, and the songs just keep coming. Instead of making one album, we are making a three album trilogy. Every song has the power and energy that represents Green Day on all emotional levels. We just can’t help ourselves… We are going epic as f—!”

That’s pretty epic, no doubt. And while you try to wrap your head around what kind of songwriting outburst led to three albums of new Green Day material, take a look at the band’s current tour itinerary below:

Green Day Summer 2012 Tour Dates

08/18 — Tokyo, Japan
08/19 — Osaka, Japan
08/26 — Paris, France
09/01 — Konstanz, Germany
09/02 — Bologna, Italy

More From 96.3 The Blaze